Two Historians Honored

Bethany Moreton has just been named as a Visiting Fellow for 2019-20 at The New School's Heilbroner Center for Capitalism Studies.  Professor Moreton will engage with the graduate student fellows as well as host lectures and panels open to the public.

On November 26, 2019, the Asiatic Society of Mumbai will confer upon Douglas Haynes their Honorary Fellowship.  This Fellowship is conferred upon a meritorious person who has contributed to promote the objects of the Society.  Some previous distinguished recipients of this award have been filmmakers Satyajit Ray and Shyam Benegal; the political theorist Bhikhu Parekh; the economist Amartya Sen; the art historians Kapila Vatsayan, Carmel Berkson and Walter Spink; the socialists M. N. Srinivazs and D. N. Dhanagare; and the well-known historians of India, Ramila Thapar, Irfan Habib, Ravinder Kumar, Ashin Das Gypta, Sarvapalli Goipal, Bipan Chandra, Stewart Gordon and Jim Masselos. Professor Haynes is only the fourth or fifth American to win this honor.