Pre-Matriculation and Transfer Credit Policies

The Department of History does not approve pre-matriculation credits, including AP and IB test scores and courses taken at other accredited 4-year degree-granting undergraduate institutions.

For students transferring to Dartmouth from other undergraduate institutions, please visit the Undergraduate Dean's Office website for information on credit review of courses taken at your previous college or university.

The Department of History will only approve study-away transfer term credits for history majors and non-majors from Dartmouth College's Guarini Institute for International Education's list of exchange programs. The Department will not approve transfer credit from any institution except those listed.

Inquires about transfer credits should be directed to the vice chair, Professor Leslie Butler (